ZIFF to recognize Women Documentary Filmmakers

The Zanzibar International Film Festival is excited to announce a new special jury award category open specifically to women documentary filmmakers from Africa. The Adiaha Award' for Best African Female Documentary Filmmaker will be offered for the first time at the 20th edition of ZIFF, taking place from July 8th - 16th 2017.

Adiaha means first daughter in the Ibibio language of Akwa Ibom State in Nigeria, not only would the winner be the 1st daughter of African Documentary Filmmaking, she would go home with a USD2000 cash award, an prestigious Adiaha Statue and a certificate.

The award has been created and sponsored by Edima Otuokon of OMESS (Nigeria) and Lara Preston of Red Flag (South Africa), both entrepreneurial women who have been invoved in the film industry for many years and are also actively involved in ZIFF. Recognising a gap within the awards at the festival, Edima and Lara aim to raise the profile on documentary filmmaking on the continent, and more specifically to ensure that more female filmmakers all over Africa get involved in the development of documentaries.

In this the 20th anniversary edition of ZIFF, it is hoped that more female filmmakers than ever will submit films into general competition, as well as in this special category. For all of the information on the submission process,

Deadline for submission is 15th March 2017

For all submission and related criteria and information please visit http://www.ziff.or.tz/ziff-2017-film-submission/ and to stay up to date with all the ZIFF news, follow us on https://www.facebook.com/ZanzibarInternationalFilmFestival

Mail submissions and accompanying materials (by Tanzanian filmmakers) can be sent to:


Ngome Kongwe (Note: this is the physical address)


Tel: (255) 773 411 499

Email: filmdept@ziff.or.tz


Toyota SA evolves Toyota Hilux’s strategic positioning with launch of 8th generation

Film Courses

FilmContact.com 2003 - 2020